Aperol Spritz

by Chryssie

spritz_hero

During our hike through Tuscany, the hardest part about the day was the end. This wasn’t just due to fatigue, or blisters, or a weird limp we had managed to pick up, but rather an unforgiving hill that without fail would present itself in the last few kilometres. You see, those medieval Italians had the bright idea of putting their towns at the crown of a very steep incline, no doubt to wear out any attacking enemies. I can safely say if I were a knight storming the village I would have been useless.

So here I would find my self, at the tail end of each afternoon, with the prospect of what always felt like a Mount Everest between me and that delicious moment when I could take my boots off. I would trudge into each town, panting rather ungracefully with wild hair and red cheeks and an uncomfortable burning feeling on the underside of my feet.

Fortunately, those wily Italians, with their putting of towns on top of hills, were simultaneously the cause and solution to all my problems.

Why? Because on top of mozzarella, panchetta and delightfully coloured army uniforms, they also found the time to invent that all-healing orange-hued elixir – the Aperol Spritz.

IMG_3880IMG_3883IMG_3892

A glass of Spritz became a tradition on our hike to cap off each day. It really seemed magical, how so few hours before there was pain and a desperation to reach the next village, as well as repetitive lectures in my head of how I really ought to spend some time getting fit once back home. But then in an instant, with a wine glass in hand and a slice of orange floating merrily between the ice, everything was calm and happy and satisfying.

I drank Spritz in poky bed & breakfast dining rooms, at the city walls of medieval fortresses with vineyards at my feet, in town squares and surrounded by fairy lights. Every time was different, some sweeter and some more bitter, with everyone in our group arguing over which one was their favourite. No matter the victor, Tuscany wouldn’t have been what it was without a cold glass of this drink in my hand as the sun went down.

As the taste varied so vastly in my experience, I’ve provided three different variations for this recipe of which you can choose your favourite. Or, make all three and really have a party!

Choose Your Own Spritz-Venture!

The Original
30mL Aperol
30mL soda water
Prosecco (or any sparkling wine of your choice)

Add ice to a wine glass, then Aperol and soda water. Top with Prosecco, stir gently and garnish with a slice of orange.

Middle of the Road
30mL Aperol
30mL lemonade
Prosecco (or any sparkling wine of your choice)

Add ice to a wine glass, then Aperol and lemonade. Top with Prosecco, stir gently and garnish with a slice of orange.

A Sweet Tooth
30mL Aperol
60mL Prosecco (or any sparkling wine of your choice)
top with lemonade

Add ice to a glass, then Aperol and Prosecco. Top with lemonade, stir gently and garnish with a slice of orange.

ย