Weekend Baking

by Chryssie

IMG_3676_webIn this house, Buzz is most definitely the bread baker. His passion for pizza morphed into a quest for the best homemade base possible (which I think he has definitely achieved), then obviously moving on to bigger baking. Because of this, the sweet treats in the kitchen are left to me and the bread to him.

Except this weekend, I was on a mission. I would bake my first solo loaf. Buzz left the house and I got to work – as soon as I got the dough out from its first rise, it felt beautiful and soft and perfect! When I saw it on its second rise ready to go into the oven, it was even better. But when I took it out of the oven and held it in my hot little hands I was over the moon.

There is nothing quite like tea and toast using a loaf your have made with love and your own two hands. Bread really is the beginning and the end of everything (despite our current fascination with gluten-free and low-carb diets). It’s truly humbling to be able to make the most ancient of foods and I am reminded of my grandparents, for who it was necessary and normal to bake your own bread daily.

A handful of ingredients go into your own basic loaf – flour, salt, water, yeast and oil. No additives or preservatives or chemicals like mass-produced loaves. Just good old-fashioned bread.

For this particular time, I used The Fabulous Baker Brothers Classic White Loaf recipe and it worked a real treat.

Next weekend, I suggest you give it a go – at the very least kneading dough is a really great way to de-stress at the end of a tough week. Oh, and a cheese toastie for lunch wouldn’t go amiss either.